If you're a small business owner in Tennessee, then you may need to get a business license.
If you haven't looked into getting your business license yet, don’t worry — we’re here to help!
We've taken the time to cover the basics, so that getting your state of Tennessee business license should be way more straightforward than if you were flying blind.
We'll go over most of what you need to know, from the application process to fees and costs, and more. If you have questions about how to get a business license in Tennessee, you can likely find some of the answers here.
Technically, you don't need a Tennessee business license to run a business, but this rule applies only if you make less than a certain amount of money.
If you earn less than $3,000 a month before taxes, then you don’t need a license. If you make between $3,000 and $10,000 a month, then you're required to get a minimal activity license. If you make more than $10,000, then you'll be required to get a standard Tennessee business license.
Similarly to how much you make, the nature of your work also factors into the requirements for a Tennessee business license. Depending on what your business's products and services are, you may be required to get a license or permit from different state offices such as the Department of Health, the Alcoholic Beverage Commission, the Department of Agriculture and Industry Services, or the Department of Environment and Conservation.
Additionally, even though you may not be required to get a business license, your local municipality may require you to get a business license that’s specific to where you work. You can check the laws in your county and local municipalities here.
We recommend starting at the closest local level first, such as your city/town, and then checking the laws that apply to your county and/or region.
Getting your state of Tennessee business license could take a while if you aren't ready with the appropriate paperwork. We recommend having the following at-hand when you are ready to apply:
You may not need all of this information to complete your Tennessee business application, but if you happen to need a piece of information, then you'll be glad to have it
Each county and city/town has slightly different requirements to get your state of Tennessee business license. Typically, most towns will allow the option of applying online or via mail. Check your local municipality’s website to learn about the application process for where you live and work.
For example, use the steps at the following links if you're applying for a business license in:
If you still have questions about where to apply, you can call the Department of Commerce and Insurance Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. (Central time).
Like the application process, the cost of your license depends on where you work and live.
Many business licenses begin at $15, but the costs can go up depending on your location.
You can find the cost of your state of Tennessee business license on your local municipal website
I mentioned earlier that when applying for a Tennessee business license, you may be asked to show proof of business insurance in order to get your business license.
This is certainly the case when it comes to getting a contractor's license in Tennessee. And for good reason!
Getting business insurance for your company could help you protect you and your customers from third-party damages to property, accidents while on the job, and more. Here's a short list of ways it can come in handy:
What's more, the state or local government may require you to have some types of business insurance (e.g., workers compensation) if you have employees on either a part-time or full-time basis.
If you're curious about the policy options and premium prices from Tennessee-based insurance providers, you can use our free quote comparison tool to find out.
You may need to show proof of business insurance to get your license.
That’s where we come in. Compare free insurance quotes for policies as low as $25.95/month.*Start My Quote
There is so much required of small business owners when it comes to starting and growing your business.
You have to learn how to get the word out, who you believe is your target customer and what they need most, how to choose the best website design, and more. It would be easy to consider getting your business license as just one more checkbox on your to-do list.
But don't skip ahead so quickly! Applying and getting a Tennessee business license is a huge step in your journey as a small business owner in Tennessee.
Yes, it takes time, money, and careful attention. But in the end, it means you're on your way to doing whatever you do best!
* Monthly payment calculations (i) do not include initial premium down payment and (ii) may vary by state, insurance provider, and nature of your business. Averages based on Q1 2020 data of 10% of our total policies sold.
I’ve told stories since I learned to talk and written since I could hold a pen. As a small business owner myself - I'm a freelance writer and yoga teacher - I love contributing to the entrepreneurship community in different ways (including writing for Simply Business!). When I’m not drafting articles for SB, I can be found on my yoga mat, perusing an indie bookstore, and writing (with my cat nearby of course).
This content is for general, informational purposes only and is not intended to provide legal, tax, accounting, or financial advice. Please obtain expert advice from industry specific professionals who may better understand your business’s needs. Read our full disclaimer
28 November 2018 • 6-minute read
Even if you’ve been a business owner for years, the internet has changed drastically in the way social media is used to boost a brand’s…Read more
*Harborway Insurance policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company and reinsured by Munich Re, an A+ (Superior) rated reinsurance carrier by A.M. Best. Harborway Insurance is a trade name of Simply Business, Inc., which is a licensed insurance producer in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.