Being a contractor is a great gig. I mean, what other job lets you learn new tools, meet people, and work a flexible schedule? Very few.
If you love construction or handyman work, I’m here to help you get your contractor’s license in Mississippi. There’s a lot of information on the web, and it can be pretty confusing. This guide will help you get through the steps, quickly and easily.
Ready to get started?
Why Do I Need to Become Licensed in Mississippi?
I’m not a fan of paperwork. Who is? And getting your license requires filling out a lot of paperwork. So you might be wondering, is it worth the effort?
Trust me, it is.
In Mississippi, you can earn much more if you’re a licensed contractor. A license opens the doors to commercial and residential projects that are worth over $50,000 in value. Say goodbye to small jobs and hello to big contracting work—and big bucks.
Plus, a license:
- Tells homeowners you’re trustworthy. It takes time and effort to get the state’s stamp of approval. It shows you’re serious about what you do and you won’t cut corners. As a result, homeowners look for contractors who are licensed. A license shows you have the skills needed to do the job well.
- Protects your business financially. To get your license, you’ll need to prove you have business insurance, including general liability insurance and workers’ compensation if you have employees. If you haven’t had insurance before, now’s a great time to look for a plan. Business insurance protects you and your employees if there’s an accident, injury, or loss.
Does a license sound like a good idea yet? I hope so. Now, let’s talk about how the process works.
Get Insured in Under 10 Minutes
Get an affordable & customized policy in just minutes. So you can get back to what matters: Your business.
Getting a Contractor License in Mississippi: What You Need to Know
Remember, not everyone needs to get licensed with the state. You only need a license if you work on:
- Commercial projects over $50,000, fire protection systems on public projects that are over $5,000, or private projects over $10,000.
- Residential projects over $50,000, residential remodeling over $10,000, or residential roofing over $10,000.
Who Doesn’t Need a License?
If you work on smaller jobs, like handyman projects, you don’t need a license at the state level. You also don’t need a license if you do electrical, plumbing, or HVAC work that is less than $10,000.
That being said, many cities and towns in Mississippi require you to get a local license. Call your local municipal department to ask first. You don’t want a hefty fine.
General Requirements for Licensure
Then decide if you’re applying for a commercial or residential license. Remember, the two licenses let you work on different types of projects. To apply for either license, you’ll need:
- A completed and notarized commercial or residential application form.
- Proof that your business is registered with the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office (for LLCs and corporations).
- A sales tax number from the Mississippi Department of Revenue .
- Proof of general liability insurance with a minimum of $300,000 per occurrence and $600,000 aggregate.
- Proof of workers’ compensation coverage if you have five employees or more.
- Three letters of reference, including one from the bank.
- A description of your work experience and skills.
- A reviewed or audited financial statement from a certified public accountant.
- An application fee ($400 for commercial licenses and $50 for residential licenses).
Do You Need Additional Contractor’s Licenses?
Possibly, but it depends on your line of work and where you live. For example, if you’re an electrician or plumber, you’ll want to ask your local municipal department about licensing. Each city and town in Mississippi handles it a little differently.
If you’re a general contractor, it makes sense to call your city or town too. Make sure they don’t have special requirements before you can work.
Apply to Take the License Exam
Once you complete the application form and gather materials, it’s time to take the licensing exam. The state requires that you take a Law and Business Management exam as well as your trade exam.
Once the state receives your application, they’ll send you the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin and exam registration instructions. It’s as easy as that.
Time to start studying!
Get Business Insurance
Even if you don’t get your license, explore buying business insurance. In the construction industry, you never know what can happen. Just imagine if there was an accident or injury, or if something happened to your equipment.
Be prepared by getting a general liability insurance plan and workers compensation if you have employees. Your business and its employees are worth it. Make sure you’re prepared.
People like you also read
Getting Clients to Pay Overdue Invoices
I remember the first time one of my customers refused to pay for a project I had completed for him.
Best Social Channels for Small Business
Even if you’ve been a business owner for years, the internet has changed drastically in the way social media is used to boost a brand’s presence.
Best Small Business Credit Card
Access to capital is often one of the biggest financial concerns for any small business, and small business credit cards are a popular financing option because they offer fast and easy access to credit.