How to Get a Utah Contractors License

Contractor in baseball cap using a box cutter to cut insulation

Are you interested in getting your contractor’s license in Utah? Whether you’re a general contractor, handyman, or an electrician, this guide will walk you through every step of the process.

If you’ve tried to get your contractor’s license in Utah before, you know it’s an involved process. From the pre-license courses to the contractor’s exam, there’s a lot to figure out. Unlike other states, acquiring your contractor’s license in Utah is a bit more complicated, so it’s essential to know exactly what steps you need to take to get the license you need.

Don’t stress; we’ve done all the research for you and put it into this helpful guide! That’s right. Everything you need to know about getting your contractor’s license in Utah is right here in this guide.

On that note, let’s get started.

Do Contractors Need to be Licensed in Utah?

Getting your contractor’s license is especially important in Utah for many reasons. The leading reason is that it’s a Class A misdemeanor to not have a current contractor’s license. In other words, if you operate without a license, you’ll be subject to fees and penalties. And no one wants that.

Another reason to get your Utah contractor’s license is that it’s great for business. Clients want to work with contractors they can trust—and that is skilled enough to meet the state’s licensure requirements.

The state of Utah defines a general contractor as, “qualified by education, training, experience, and knowledge to perform or superintend construction of structures for the support, shelter, and enclosure of persons, animals, chattels, or movable property of any kind or any […] up to four units may perform the mechanical work and hire a licensed plumber or electrician as an employee.”

So who needs a Utah contractor’s license? Utah Code 58-55-301 goes on to say, “A person engaged in the construction trades licensed under this chapter, as a contractor regulated under this chapter, as an alarm business or company, or as an alarm company agent, shall become licensed under this chapter before engaging in that trade or contracting activity in this state unless specifically exempted from licensure under Section 58-1-307 or 58-55-305.

How Much Work Can You do Without a Contractor License in Utah?

Essentially, anyone who wants to do repairs, construction, alteration, or demolition of any kind of building in Utah will need a license.

The State of Utah recognizes 23 types of contractors, including:

  • General engineering contractor
  • General building contractor
  • Residential and small commercial contractor
  • Elevator contractor
  • General plumbing contractor
  • Residential plumbing contractor

For the full list of contractor types, refer to Utah Code 58-55-301 on the Utah State Legislature website.

What is Required to Get a Contractors License in Utah?

Before you can start applying for your Utah contractor license, you need to verify that you meet all the requirements. Let’s take a look at them in detail.

  • Complete a 25-hour pre-license course: All applicants must complete a 25-hour pre-license course before applying. You can take the course either through the Associated General Contractors of Utah or the Utah Home Builders Association. Keep in mind, these are the only two approved course providers.
  • General Liability Insurance: You must have proof of contractor general liability insurance with at least $100,000 in coverage per incident and $300,000 in total coverage. The Department of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) must be listed as a certificate holder.

Here at Simply Business, we insure contractors like you throughout the U.S. We know how to get you the right GL coverage from leading insurers that meets Utah requirements and fits your budget. All in about 10 minutes. Make sure you get a quote so you can be sure you’re getting the best coverage for the best price.

Applying for a UT Contractor’s License?

You may need to show proof of business insurance to get your license.

That’s where we come in. Compare free insurance quotes for policies as low as $19.58/month.*

  • Register your business: No matter if you’re a corporation, sole proprietor, LLP, LLC, or partnership, you must register your business with the Utah Division of Corporations. After you register, make sure you apply for your Employer Identification Number (EIN) through the IRS. However, if you’re a sole proprietor, you have the option to use your social security number instead of an EIN. Either way is acceptable.
  • Complete two years of construction work experience: The State of Utah requires that all applicants complete—and prove—two years or 4,000 hours of construction experience.

If you have employees, there are a few additional requirements to meet:

How do I Get a B100 in Utah?

In Utah, a B100 is also known as a General Building Contractors License. It allows you to perform structural work, but not plumbing, electrical, or mechanical work.

Here’s how to get one:

Experience – You’ll need two years (4,000 hours) of paid work experience.

You also can meet the experience requirements with any of the following:

  • A two-year or four-year Construction Management degree
  • A Utah Professional Engineer license
  • You are (or were) the qualifying party for another Utah general contractor license.

Education – A 30-hour pre-licensing course is required before taking your contractor’s license test. Once you’ve completed the course, you must pass the Utah business and law exam for general contractors.

Other Important Details You Need to Know

In addition to the requirements, there are a few other components to the licensing application process you need to know. Let’s take a look at each in more detail.

1. Prepare for and schedule your contractor’s exam.

To receive your Utah contractors license, you must meet the educational requirements as well as pass two exams—the UT B-100 General Building Contractor exam and the UTAH Construction Business and Law exam.

The UT B-100 General Building Contractor exam:

  • 3 hours to take
  • 70% minimum passing score
  • 80 questions total
  • $72.00 fee

The UTAH Construction Business and Law exam:

  • 2 hours to take
  • Open book format
  • The exam is issued via computer
  • $75.00 fee

2. Pay the corresponding application fees.

The Utah contractor’s license application is on the pricier side. Below is a breakdown of the fees required for every application:

  • New application fee: $225.00 (includes one classification and one qualifier)
  • Application fee for every additional classification: $175.00
  • Application fee for every new, additional, or change in a qualifier: $50.00
  • Unincorporated with an owner owning less than 8%: $20
  • Business registration fee: $70.00 (non-refundable, through the State of Utah Department of Commerce

3. Complete the contractor’s license application.

The Utah contractor’s application has quite a few components to it. You’ll be asked to provide basic information like your legal business name, address, and phone number. You’ll also have to provide information like a financial responsibility statement, affidavit of experience, proof of general liability insurance, and more.

To make the application process as smooth as possible, make sure you collect each required item before you go to apply. That way, you know you have all the necessary documents to submit a complete application.

Time to Get Busy

If you’re eager to get going after reading this, it’s no surprise. Utah is known as the beehive state because the hard-working settlers of the territory saw themselves as a “hive of industry.”

If you have more questions about getting a Utah contractor’s license, including the process or the requirements, leave a comment below! You can also find other articles like this one to help get your business started and growing right here.

Kat Ambrose

I’m a writer who specializes in creating value-packed blog content for eCommerce and SaaS companies and small businesses. When I’m not writing, I’m probably out running, checking out a thriller novel—or two—from the library, or trying to pet the nearest dog.

Kat writes on a number of topics such as small business administration and business license requirements.